Skip to content ↓

Teaching about equality and diversity

The protected characteristics

Alongside the teaching of BRITISH VALUES and our own STARFISH VALUES it is also important to teach children about the characteristics that are designated as 'protected'.

They are called protected because it is against the law to discriminate against someone because of these.

The 9 protected characteristics are:

We teach the children about these through a a variety of ways including:

  • Assemblies
  • PSHE sessions
  • Thrive sessions
  • Discussions around bullying
  • Smart School Council class meetings
  • Our general ethos
  • Through visits and visitors


It is important that these concepts are re-visited throughout the year and aim to ensure there are plenty opportunities for children to develop their understanding of these.